Sex Offender Registry
As mandated by the Illinois Sex Offender Registration Act, the Champaign Police Department manages the registration of each registered sex offender residing within the Champaign city limits.
Convicted sex offenders who are required to register do so by reporting directly to the Champaign Police Department.
- Most registered offenders are required to renew their registration annually.
- Offenders who have been classified as “Sexually Dangerous” or “Sexually Violent” must report every 90 days.
- Offenders who have registered as homeless must report every seven (7) days.
- All registered offenders are required to report a change of address, change of employment, or school enrollment within three (3) days.
- By statute, registered sex offenders are prohibited from living within 500 feet of a school, daycare, park, or other facility providing services exclusively directed towards persons who are under 18 years of age.
Champaign Police Shift Commanders and Records Staff regularly collaborate to ensure that no registered sex offender residing within the city limits is in violation of these statutes.
The Illinois Sex Offender Registration Team (I-SORT) has established a toll-free number to answer questions about sex offender laws in Illinois, take phone-in tips about inaccurate or incomplete entries on the Sex Offender Registry, and to order Sex Offender Registry public awareness posters.
The I-SORT hotline is answered Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5 p.m. Call: 1-888-41-ISORT (1-888-414-7678).
Visit the Illinois Sex Offender Registration website for more information and an online listing of sex offenders required to register in the State of Illinois.