Employment Groups

Bargaining Unit Employees

There are four bargaining units (unions) represented at the City of Champaign.  Click below to view the current union contracts:

Salaries for bargaining unit employees are decided through the collective bargaining process.  Contracts are usually for a three-year period and are approved by the City Council.  Fringe Benefit Summaries for the bargaining unit groups may be found HERE.

Non-Bargaining Unit Employees

Approximately one-third of the City’s employees are non-bargaining unit employees.  Employees not classified in a union are subject to the conditions of the Non-Bargaining Unit (NBU) Handbook.  Fringe Benefit Summaries for non-bargaining unit employees may be found HERE.