Scholarship Recipients Recognized at Unity Breakfast

As part of the weekend’s celebration of Dr. King, the City co-sponsored the Unity Breakfast on January 17, 2022, at the Vineyard Church in Urbana. This event honored the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Advocacy for Justice Committee Scholarship Award winners. These scholarships were awarded to high school seniors in Urbana, Champaign, and Rantoul who embody the ideals and dream of Dr. King.

Scholarship recipients include: Kiana Amindavar, Rabbi Bassoubouh-ba-Dimai, Montez Dubose, Jamaica Dyer, Ziniera Edwards, Rema Salem, Jonathan Sanchez-Huanca, Crystal Spearman, Maurice Thomas, Adrian Zzimbe, Kevin Alvardo, and Robin Risasi.