2014 Champaign-Urbana International Humanitarian Award Recipients Selected

The cities of Champaign and Urbana, along with the 2014 Champaign-Urbana International Humanitarian Awards Steering Committee, have selected the recipients of the 2014 Champaign-Urbana International Humanitarian Awards. The award recipients will be honored Thursday, September 25th, at the I Hotel & Conference Center, 1900 S. First Street, Champaign, with a 5:45 p.m. reception and 6:30 p.m. awards program. This year, two individuals and one organization will be honored.

Winners this year are:

Individual Awards:

  • Carl W. Burkybile, Humanitarian Relief
  • Jackie Corlett Johnson, Trade and Business

Organizational Award:

  • Visit Champaign County AgriTours Illinois Program, Hospitality

The event honoring the award recipients is open to the public. Tickets are $25 each and must be purchased in advance from the City of Champaign, Community Relations Office, 102 N. Neil Street, Champaign, or by calling 217.403.8830.

Mike Haile, “Mike in the Morning”, from WDWS/WHMS Radio Station will serve as the Master of Ceremony.

The Champaign-Urbana International Awards were originally created in 2003 to honor individuals/organizations whose work has contributed significantly to international understanding, cooperation, friendship, and development; recognize the richness of Champaign County’s international contributions, concerns, and commitments in a variety of arenas, including agriculture, hospitality, humanitarian relief, human rights, research/education, and trade and business; and educate the public about the connections that exist between our local and global community.

Attached, please find biographical information on the awardees.