Code Review and Appeals Board

  • About the Board

    The Code Review and Appeals Board reviews and advises the City Council on all building construction codes as they apply to new construction.  The Board also hears appeals from those affected by a code violation or other decision involving building codes as they apply to new construction.

    TheBoard consists of nine appointed members who represent various facets of building construction.  City Ordinance mandates that members must be of the following professions: Architect, Structural Engineer, Residential Homebuilder/Realtor, Commercial Builder/Developer, Electrician, Mechanical Engineer, Mechanical Technician, Licensed Plumber, Electrical Engineer.

    Board members are appointed by the Mayor with the City Council’s approval.  Each member is appointed to a three-year term.

    Learn more about the Code Review and Appeals Board.

     

    [table “” not found /]
  • Documents

    [table “” not found /]
  • Board Members

    MemberContact InformationService BeganTerm BeganTerm Expires
    CHAIR
    John "Scott" Kunkel
    (Commercial Builder/Developer)
    kunkel@jsmliving.comNovember 2012July 2019June 2022
    VICE CHAIR
    Kirk Skelton
    (Residential Homebuilder/Realtor)
    kirk@mikemartinbuilders.comMay 2009July 2019June 2022
    Keith Brandau
    (Structural Engineer)
    kebrandau@gmail.comNovember 2018July 2021June 2024
    Charles "Chip" Craddock
    (Electrical Engineer)
    chip.craddock@clark-dietz.comJuly 1998July 2020June 2023
    James Gleason
    (Mechanical Engineer)
    jgleason@ghrinc.comMay 1992July 2020June 2023
    Lucas Pryor
    (Mechanical Technician)
    lucas@217inc.comAugust 2019July 2019June 2022
    Ed Scopel
    (Architect)
    ejscopel@gmail.comNovember 2018July 2021June 2024
    Kenwood Sullivan
    (Plumber)
    sullivanplumbing@juno.comJune 1992July 2020June 2023
    Thomas Thompson
    (Electrician)
    ibewtom@comcast.netOctober 2019July 2021June 2024
    EX OFFICIO MEMBER
    Randy Smith 
    Building Safety Supervisor
    Statutory
    EX OFFICIO MEMBER
    Gary Ludwig
    Fire Chief
    Statutory
  • Staff Support

    Building Safety Division
    217-403-6100
    buildingsafety@champaignil.gov

    Champaign Fire Department
    Building Safety Division
    307 S. Randolph St.
    Champaign, IL 61820

    [table “” not found /]