Human Relations Commission

  • About the Commission

    Members of the Human Relations Commission

    Pictured (L to R): Commissioners Demario Turner, Alissia Young, Brian Alexander-Ward, and Robin McClain. Not pictured: Commissioners Dr. Ahmed Taha, Creighton Comer, Willie Comer, and Barb Bressner.

    The Human Relations Commission is responsible for the promotion of equal rights and opportunities in the City.  It is responsible for the enforcement of the City’s Human Rights Ordinance and serves as the hearing board for complaints of violation of the Ordinance that cannot be conciliated by staff.  The Commission also advises the City Council on human rights and equal opportunity issues.

    The Commission consists of nine members that are appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the Council.  Each member serves a three-year term.

    Learn more about the Human Relations Commission.

    Human Relations Commission Bylaws


    [table “” not found /]
  • Commission Members

    MemberContact InformationService BeganTerm BeganTerm Expires
    Alissia Young
    1902 W. Kirby Ave.
    Champaign, IL 61821
    C: 217-766-7294
    H: 217-355-4959
    July 2015July 2018June 2021
    Demario Turner
    1609 Cruising Ln.
    Champaign, IL 61821
    H: 217-390-0363
    January 2017July 2017June 2020
    Brian Alexander-Ward
    1722 Park Haven Dr.
    Champaign, IL 61820
    C: 217-671-2167
    July 2018July 2017June 2020
    Robin McClain
    1112 Birkdale Dr.
    Champaign, IL 61822
    C: 217-607-9619
    July 2018July 2018June 2021
    Barbara Bressner
    3908 Pebblebrook Ln.
    Champaign, IL 61822
    H: 217-840-3198
    July 2015July 2019June 2022
    Vacant July 2019June 2022
    Willie G. Comer, Jr.
    1912 Branch Rd.
    Champaign, IL 61821
    H: 708-267-8778
    November 2015July 2017June 2020
    Ahmed Taha
    2707 Pine Valley Dr.,
    Champaign, IL 61822
    C: 630-217-2778
    July 2019July 2019June 2022
    Aviyah Washington
    (Youth Commissioner)
    1607 W. White St., Apt. B
    Champaign, IL 61821
    H: 217-530-8840
    October 2019July 2019June 2020
  • Staff Support

    Office of Equity, Community and Human Rights

    Office of Equity, Community and Human Rights
    102 N. Neil St.
    Champaign, IL 61820

    [table “” not found /]