2017 Immigrant Welcome Award Recipients Announced

As co-sponsors of the 4th Annual Immigrant Welcome Award Ceremony, the Cities of Champaign and Urbana, the CU Immigration Forum, and the Urbana Free Library are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Immigrant Welcome Awards.  The award recipients will be honored during the Immigrant Welcome Award Ceremony and Celebration on September 23, 2017, at 2:00 p.m. at the Muslim American Society Center (2011 Brownfield Rd, Urbana).  This event is free and open to the public

The 2017 Immigrant Welcome Award recipients are:

Human Rights Award
– Karyl Wackerlin

Community Impact Award
– Education Justice Project
– Immigration Project

Distinguished Leadership Service Award
– Charles Larenas

Humanitarian Relief Award
– Samuel Smith

Student Leadership Award
– Nancy Ramirez-Blancas

The Immigrant Welcome Awards Selection Committee congratulates this year’s award recipients and thanks them for their dedicated work enriching the lives of those not only living in Champaign-Urbana, but around the world.  The public is encouraged to celebrate their achievements during the Immigrant Welcome Award Ceremony and Celebration on Saturday, September 23. This event includes free activities for children and refreshments.

Rachel Joy – City of Champaign – 217-403-8830
Megan Flowers – CU Immigration Forum – 251-209-2615