Call for Nominations – 2017 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Countywide Celebration Awards

The Cities of Champaign and Urbana, Champaign County, Parkland College, and the University of Illinois are accepting nominations for the 16th Annual Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Countywide Celebration.  Awardees will be honored Friday, January 13, 2017, at Parkland College, 2400 W. Bradley Avenue, Champaign at 4:00 p.m.

Individuals and Organizations can be nominated for the following awards:

  • James R. Burgess, Jr. – Susan Freiburg Humanitarian Award honors the humanitarian efforts of individuals/organizations that improve the human condition by alleviating suffering and contributing to the basic human dignity of those in need;
  • Doris Hoskins Prestigious Community Service Award honors individuals/organizations that engage in outstanding volunteerism and in so doing, contribute to the well-being of the Champaign County Community;
  • The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Outstanding Achievement Award honors individuals/organizations that work for social justice in the spirit of Dr. King. The principles of justice that Dr. King espoused include promoting equal rights for all persons regardless of race, religion, economic status, or physical or mental disability.

Nomination forms are available on the websites at:

For additional information, contact the Community Relations Office at 217/403-8830 or via e-mail at [email protected]

All nominations must be received by MONDAY, NOVEMBER 14, 2016 at 5:00 pm. 

Nominations must be submitted in writing, not to exceed three (3) double-spaced typed pages. They should be submitted in one of three ways:

  1. Online at:
  2. Emailed to: [email protected]
  3. Printed out and mailed to:   City of Champaign, Community Relations Office, 102 N. Neil Street, Champaign, IL  61820