Seven Residents Apply to Fill District 3 Council Seat

The City of Champaign received seven applications to fill the vacant District 3 City Council office by today’s 12:00 p.m. deadline.  Copies of the applications are available for public review on the City’s website  (

In alphabetical order, the applicants are:

  • Angela Brix
  • Bruce Brown
  • Jamar Brown
  • Kenton Elmore
  • Katherine Johnson
  • Pamela Peete
  • Gordon J. Tracey

The Champaign City Council will carefully review the applications and then interview the candidates during their Study Session meeting on June 28, 2016. It is anticipated that the City Council will appoint the new District 3 Council member at their regular meeting on July 5, 2016.

On April 13, 2016, former Council Member Vic McIntosh announced he was resigning because he was moving out of the district. His resignation was effective June 1, 2016.   On May 30, 2016, the City of Champaign began accepting applications from residents interested in serving out the remaining term of the District 3 Council office.

Contact:  Fred Stavins | 217-403-8765