Public Invited to Celebrate Seventh Annual STAR Awards on April 21

The City of Champaign’s Neighborhood Services Department and Neighborhood Services Advisory Board invite the public to the seventh annual STAR (Service Together Achieves Results) Awards ceremony starting at 7:00 p.m. on April 21, 2016. The celebration will be held at the Hilton Garden Inn (1501 S Neil St, Champaign) and is free and open to the public.

“The STAR Awards ceremony is held each year to celebrate the civic activities of those who work day in and day out to make Champaign a great place to live, work and play,” reports Neighborhood Coordinator John Ruffin. “All those being honored at the STAR Awards were nominated by members of the public and we will recognize and thank each of them for their
dedication and work towards improving our community.”

The 2016 STAR Awards will recognize 28 civic-minded residents/organizations who were nominated in one of seven different categories. The public nominations were reviewed by the Neighborhood Services Advisory Board and one honoree was selected in each category. All nominees will be honored and the featured honorees will be announced during the ceremony.

The nominees for the 2016 STAR Awards are:

Community Partner – Ann’s House, Busey Bank, Community Coalition, Community Plus Federal Credit Union, Emergency Family Shelter, One People, Prosperity Gardens

Dave Benton Difference Maker – Rabbi Alan Cook, Jaquelyn Monroe, Joe Muskin, Linda Turnbull

Good Neighbor – Staci Britten, Earl Evans, Elizabeth Mulvaney, Luyando Nelson, Eric Stoecker

Neighborhood Leadership – Randy Bishop, Steve McDowell

Neighborhood of the Year – Clark Park, United Garden Hills Neighborhood Association

Neighborhood-Community Building – Champaign Park District, C-U Area Project, Brad Morris, Delores Lloyd

Rising Star – Ebony Shackelford, Garden Hills Student Action, Nikolas Ramkumar, Nipun Bhatia

A public reception will be held starting at 6:00 p.m. so the nominees can socialize with
Champaign’s elected officials, City staff, the public, and their fellow nominees. For more
information about the STAR Awards, visit

Contact: John Ruffin | 217-403-7070 | [email protected]