Historic Preservation Commission

  • About the Commission

    The Historic Preservation Commission identifies properties, structures, and areas that are historically significant. This Commission also advises the Plan Commission and City Council on the designation of Landmarks, Conservation, and Historic Districts. Additionally, the Commission acts to facilitate the protection of visual characteristics by reviewing, giving advice, and passing upon changes to the exterior architectural appearance.

    The Commission consists of seven regular members and two alternates that are appointed by the Mayor with City Council approval. Members are chosen on the basis of expertise, experience, or interest in the related subject matter. Members are appointed to three-year terms. Alternate members must first serve for one-year prior to being appointed as a regular member.

    Learn more about the Historic Preservation Commission.

    Historic Preservation Commission By-Laws.



    [table “” not found /]
  • Landmark Nominations

    Anyone can nominate a property for consideration as a historic landmark by submitting a completed Landmark Nomination Application.


    [table “” not found /]
  • Commission Members

    MemberContact InformationService BeganTerm BeganTerm Expires
    Anthony Bamert
    bamerttony@aol.com July 2014July 2020June 2023
    Kyle Sondgeroth
    kyleson@gmail.comMarch 2017July 2019June 2022
    Gail Broadiegail.broadie@comcast.netMarch 2016July 2020June 2023
    Stephen DunnNovember 2015July 2020June 2023
    Barbara Ford
    bjford46@hotmail.com June 2016July 2019June 2022
    Carol Meinhartcarol@sellinghomes24-7.comJanuary 2017July 2019June 2022
    Adrianne Brehm
    adriannebrehm@gmail.comOctober 2019July 2019June 2022
    Joe Zalabakjoe@zalabakhomes.comDecember 2019July 2021June 2024
    ALTERNATE VacantJuly 2021June 2024
  • Staff Support

    Planning & Development Department

    City of Champaign
    Planning & Development Department
    102 N. Neil St.
    Champaign, IL 61820

    [table “” not found /]