Champaign Public Library Board of Trustees

Board Information

The Champaign Public Library was established in 1876. The Library is governed by the Board of Trustees of the Champaign Public Library, comprised of nine residents of Champaign, one of whom is a current member of the City Council. The trustees are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council for staggered terms of three years. The Board of Trustees establishes policy for the Library and appoints the Library Director, who serves as the Library’s chief executive officer.

The powers of the Board are defined in the Illinois Local Library Act on Trustees (75 ILCS 5/4) and Division 3 of Article V of Chapter 2 of the Champaign Municipal Code of 1985, as amended (Administration – Burnham City Library Board).

The Library Director provides staff support for the Board and can be reached at 217/403-2050, or


Board Members

Member Name Phone Number(s) Term Began Term Expires
Mark S. Ballard
1004 Foley Avenue
Champaign, IL 61820
O: 217/351-2870
H: 217/352-3718
October 2008 June 2018
Katie M. Blakeman
1401 Country Lake Drive
Champaign, IL 61821
O: 384-3725
P: 390-6407
July 2015 June 2018
Deb Busey
4605 Stonebridge Drive
Champaign, IL 61822
O: 217/778-4471
July 2016 June 2019
Trisha Crowley
1004 Mayfair Road
Champaign, IL 61821
O: 217/649-3500
July 2012  June 2018
Michael J. La Due
1005 S Sixth Street, #28
Champaign, IL 61820
H: 217/367-5536
May 1993 end of Council term
Dr. Charles Lansford
1713 Mayfair Rd.,
Champaign, IL 61821
O: 217/352-0112
Dec 2015 June 2019
Minnie Pearson
1904 Kensington Knoll Drive
Champaign, IL 61822
H: 217/356-4100
June 2004 June 2019
Orlando Thomas
2007 Strand Drive
Champaign, IL  61822
O: 217/351-3792
P: 217/778-4062
July 2014 June 2017
Martin Wolske
1806 Clover Lane
Champaign, IL  61821
H: 217/840-7434
Oct 2014 June 2017
Donna Pittman, Director
Champaign Public Library
200 West Green Street
Champaign, IL 61820
Meetings are held on the third Wednesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Julia Burnham third floor Conference Room at Main Library. April & October meetings are held at the Douglass Branch Library. Terms are 3 years except for Council Representative.