The City of Champaign is a non-partisan home rule municipality which consists of the Mayor and eight (8) Council Members, elected for four (4) year terms, and until their successors are elected and qualified, as provided by statute and ordinance.

The Mayor and three (3) Council Members shall be elected at large and five (5) Council Members shall be elected from districts.

There are biennial elections for Council Members.

The Mayor and three (3) Council Members to be elected at large at one election.

The five (5) district Council Members, and the Township Supervisor and Assessor are elected at the ensuing election. 

The 2023 Council elections will elect one person to the office of Mayor and three persons to the offices of At-Large City Council Member. 

General Election: The General Election will be held on Tuesday, April 4, 2023.