MLK Countywide Celebration

Photo of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Each year, the Cities of Champaign and Urbana come together with Champaign County, the Village of Rantoul, Parkland College and the University of Illinois to host a countywide celebration honoring the life and legacy of the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. During the ceremony, community members are honored with prestigious awards in recognition of their work to uphold the principles and ideals of Dr. King.

2024 Award Recipients

  • Marco Price – James R. Burgess, Jr. – Susan Freiburg Humanitarian Award – Honors the humanitarian efforts of individuals who have contributed to the basic human dignity of  those in need.
  • Rev. Herbert D. Burnett – Doris Hoskins Prestigious Community Service Award – Honors individuals who engage in improving the well-being of Champaign County.
  • Minnie Pearson – Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Outstanding Achievement Award -Honors individuals or organizations that work for social justice in the spirit of Dr. King.

Living the Dream Scholarship

Each year a pool of local high school seniors are awarded a $1,000 “Living the Dream” scholarship to use at a college of their choice. This scholarship is renewable for up to four years. The MLK Jr. Living the Dream scholarships are funded through tax-deductible donations from individuals, churches, synagogues, and businesses who share our passion for transforming the lives of young people through education.  Click here to view the 2024 winners!