Champaign Firefighters Receive the Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal Unit Citation Award

The Champaign Fire Department is honored to announce that five firefighters have been awarded the Unit Citation Award for their courageous efforts to rescue two fire victims during a fire in a residence on December 21, 2019.

The Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal (OSFM) has awarded Lieutenant Jason Rector (Squad 171), Firefighter Josh Plese (Squad 171), Acting Captain Chip Haake (Ladder 161), Acting Engineer Paul Doyle (Ladder 161), and Firefighter Tad Worley (Ladder 161) with a 2019 Unit Citation Award for their brave efforts entering a heavily involved residence charged with smoke and fire to rescue two fire victims. The Unit Citation Award is given for an act of service in the line of duty, demonstrating excellence, teamwork, and professionalism in service to the citizens of the state of Illinois. The Firehouse Magazine Valor Award Committee has also recognized these same heroes with a 2019 Unit Citation Award Honorable Mention.

The Illinois State Fire Marshal was present at the Champaign Fire Department today for a brief ceremony outside Champaign Fire Department’s headquarters to present them with their well-deserved award. Awards are typically given during the Annual Illinois Fallen Firefighter Memorial and Fire Fighting Medal of Honor Awards Ceremony; however, the Covid-19 pandemic has impacted the OSFM’s ability to hold the larger event.