Announcing the 2020 Recipients of the Immigrant Welcome Awards

The highlight of a very hard year in immigration is the announcement of the 7th Annual Immigrant Welcome Awards. The 2020 Immigrant Welcome Award recipients are:

  • Business Leadership Award – Acupuncture & Oriental Medicine
  • Community Impact Award – Chinese American Association at Central Illinois (CAACI)
  • Distinguished Leadership Service Awards – Nils Jacobsen
  • Leadership Awards – Ibrahim Bourema Ouedraogo
  • Student Leadership Award – Jacopo DeMarinis

The CU Immigration Forum’s Steering and the Planning Committee recognize that each nominee and recipient serve beyond a requirement and as a sign of their love to fellow human beings. As Mr. Nils Jacobsen states, “I am humbled by the award, especially because I know how many people here in the community have been working with tremendous dedication for the immigrants for many years.”

All award recipients were honored during the Immigrant Welcome Awards Ceremony and Celebration on September 19, 2020. The public was invited to attend this free (virtual) event and to celebrate the diversity of cultures that make up Champaign-Urbana.

This event was part of Welcoming Week, a national week to bring both together immigrants and U.S.-born residents in a spirit of unity and whose theme is “Creating Home Together.” Since the Fall of 2015, the Cities of Champaign and Urbana have signed a joint proclamation locally recognizing Welcoming Week and it is presented at the same ceremony.

The Immigrant Welcome Awards Ceremony and Celebration was sponsored by C-U Immigration Forum, generously supported by the Cities of Champaign and Urbana and The Urbana Free Library, and co-sponsored by ISCU, University YMCA New American Welcome Center, and the Channing Murray Foundation.