2015 MLK Countywide Celebration Call for Nominations

There are many individuals and organizations in our community who work tirelessly for the good of others.  They share their time, energy, experience, and good will to make Champaign County a better place to live and work.  Unfortunately, the efforts of these dedicated and compassionate individuals and organizations too often go unrecognized.  That is why the Cities of Champaign and Urbana, Champaign County, Parkland College, and the University of Illinois have joined together to recognize and honor those who work for the betterment of our community by offering three awards in the following categories:

  • James R. Burgess, Jr. – Susan Freiburg Humanitarian Award honors the humanitarian efforts of individuals/organizations that improve the human condition by alleviating suffering and contributing to the basic human dignity of those in need;
  • Doris Hoskins Prestigious Community Service Award honors individuals/organizations that engage in outstanding volunteerism and in so doing, contribute to the well-being of the Champaign County Community;
  • The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Outstanding Achievement Award honors individuals/organizations that work for social justice in the spirit of Dr. King. The principles of justice that Dr. King espoused include promoting equal rights for all persons regardless of race, religion, economic status, or physical or mental disability.

If you know a Champaign County individual or organization who has demonstrated a deep commitment to the betterment of our community by engaging in community services, humanitarian work, or the promotion of equal rights, please consider them for a nomination.

Each nominee that is chosen for an award will be recognized at the 14th Annual Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Countywide Celebration.  This event will be held on Friday, January 16, 2015, from 4:00 pm until 6:00 pm at Hilton Garden Inn, 1501 S. Neil Street, Champaign.

Nominations can be found at: https://champaignil.gov/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/2015-MLK-Nomination-Packet.pdf

All nominations must be received by Friday, October 17, 2014 at 5:00 pm.