Human Relations Commission

The Human Relations Commission is responsible for the promotion of equal rights and opportunities in the City.  It is responsible for the enforcement of the City’s Human Rights Ordinance and serves as the hearing board for complaints of violation of the Ordinance that cannot be conciliated by staff.  The Commission also advises the City Council on human rights and equal opportunity issues.  The Commission consists of nine members that are appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the Council.  Each member serves a term of three years.

The Community Relations Office at 217/403-8830 provides staff support for this Commission.

Meeting Information

Committee Members

Member NamePhone Number(s)Term BeganTerm Expires
Barbara Bressner
3908 Pebblebrook Lane
Champaign, IL 61822
H: 217.840.3198
July 2015June 2018
Creighton Comer
201 W. Springfield, Apt. 812
H: 217-714-1135

August 2016June 2019
Willie G. Comer, Jr.
1912 Branch Road
H: 708-267-8778

November 2015June 2018
Kenton Elmore
719 Higgins Road
C: 217-377-9198

August 2016June 2019
Amy Felty
1914 Clover Lane
Champaign, IL 61821
C: 217.637.3125
July 2015 June 2018
Mary Ann Midden
2103 Rodney Drive
Champaign, IL 61821
H: 217.398.8655
July 2015 June 2018
Ebony Shackelford II
910 W. Springfield Ave.
Chamapaign, IL 61821
C: 217.693.1151
February 2016June 2018
Demario Turner
1609 Cruising Lane
Champaign, IL 61821
H: 217-390-0363
January 2017June 2017
Alissia Young
1902 W. Kirby Avenue
Champaign, IL 61821
C: 217.766.7294
H: 217.355.4959
July 2015 June 2018
Supported By:Meetings are held on the 1st Monday of each month at 5:30 pm in the Council Chambers.
Community Relations Division
102 North Neil Street
Champaign, IL 61820
O: 217.403.8830Terms are 3 years.