Champaign-Urbana Cable Television and Telecommunications Commission

Committee Information

The Champaign-Urbana Cable Television and Telecommunications Commission (Cable Commission) is an advisory board to both the City of Champaign and City of Urbana’s City Councils. It monitors the local cable franchises and ensures compliance of the Cable Franchise Agreements are maintained.  The City of Urbana serves as the Administrative Agency for the Cable Commission.

Other responsibilities include evaluating the performance of the cable television operator, reporting such findings to both City Councils, and holding public hearings concerning applications for and renewals of the Cable Franchise Agreement. The Cable Commission also reviews Champaign-Urbana cable and video subscriber complaints about television services.

Cable/Video Providers

Companies with a local or state video franchise in Champaign:


The most expedient way to resolve an issue with a cable/video provider is to contact their respective customer service line (phone number located on your bill) and requesting to speak with a supervisor if you don’t feel your issue is being handled properly.  If you aren’t satisfied with the response the company representative provides, customers can file a complaint directly with the Federal Communication Commission online at or toll free at 1-888-CALL-FCC.

Cable Commission Members

The Commission consists of 8 voting members. Three members represent each City (appointed by the Mayor with Council approval).  One member is also appointed by the Chancellor of the University of Illinois and another member by the President of Parkland College.

The City of Urbana provides staff support for this Commission and can be contacted for further information at 217/384-2452 or Jake Schumacher, UPTV Station Manager.

Commission Members

MemberTelephoneTerm BeganTerm Expires
Dale Sinder

2909 S. Myra Ridge Dr.
Urbana, IL 61802
H: 217-778-0680
April 2012 June 2016
Peter Folk

1407 S. Maple St.
Urbana, IL 61801
O: 217-367-8656
H: 217-721-3893 (preferred)
April 2010June 2018
Andrew WadsworthO: 217-300-9631
October 2014June 2018
Karen Walker
2121 Lynwood Drive
Champaign, IL 61821
O: 217-359-0042
H: 217-359-0042
June 2002June 2019
Giraldo Rosales
618 W. Hill
Champaign, IL 61821
O: 217-244-6588
H: 217-766-6105
June 2009June 2018
Prosper Panumpabi
3917 Summer Sage Ct.
Champaign, IL 61821
O: 217-819-9776March 2016June 2018
Andrew Gleason
University of Illinois - UI-7
Dept. of Public Affairs
507 E Green Street - Rm 359
Champaign, IL 61820
O: 217/244-2978
October 2016
Chris Foster
Parkland College – PCTV
2400 W. Bradley Avenue
Champaign, IL 61821
O: 217-351-2475
September 2008
City of Urbana
Jake Schumacher

UPTV Station Manager
400 S. Vine
Urbana, IL 61801
O: 217/384-2452
Cable Commission Clerk
City of Champaign
Janet Ahern

Multimedia Producer
102 N Neil St.
Champaign, IL 61820
O: 217/403-8710
Staff Liaison
Regular meetings are held the 3rd Thursday of January, April, July and October at 3:30 p.m. in the City of Urbana’s Council Chambers. Commissioner terms are 3 years in length.