Human Relations Commission

  • About the Commission

    The Human Relations Commission is responsible for the promotion of equal rights and opportunities in the City.  It is responsible for the enforcement of the City’s Human Rights Ordinance and serves as the hearing board for complaints of violation of the Ordinance that cannot be conciliated by staff.  The Commission also advises the City Council on human rights and equal opportunity issues.

    The Commission consists of nine members that are appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the Council.  Each member serves a three-year term.

    Learn more about the Human Relations Commission.

     

    [table “” not found /]
  • Commission Members

    MemberContact InformationTerm BeganTerm Expires
    CHAIR
    Alissia Young
    1902 W. Kirby Avenue
    Champaign, IL 61821
    C: 217-766-7294
    H: 217-355-4959
    alissiayoung@gmail.com
    July 2015June 2018
    VICE CHAIR
    Kenton Elmore
    719 Higgins Road
    Champaign, IL 61822
    C: 217-377-9198
    kenton.elmore@gmail.com
    August 2016June 2019
    SECRETARY
    Demario Turner
    1609 Cruising Lane
    Champaign, IL 61821
    H: 217-390-0363
    demario.turner@gmail.com
    January 2017June 2020
    Barbara Bressner
    3908 Pebblebrook Lane
    Champaign, IL 61822
    H: 217-840-3198
    bbressner@att.net
    July 2015June 2018
    Creighton Comer
    201 W. Springfield, Apt. 812
    Champaign, IL 61820
    H: 217-714-1135
    creighton.comer@att.net
    August 2016June 2019
    Willie G. Comer, Jr.
    1912 Branch Road
    Champaign, IL 61821
    H: 708-267-8778 
    williecomer@att.net
    November 2015June 2020
    Amy Felty
    1914 Clover Lane
    Champaign, IL 61821
    C: 217-637-3125
    asfelty@gmail.com
    July 2015June 2018
    Valena Greene
    2418 Sangamon Ave.
    Champaign, IL 61821
    (Youth Commissioner)
    C: 217-550-9263 
    valenagreene@gmail.com
    July 2017June 2018
    Mary Ann Midden
    2103 Rodney Drive
    Champaign, IL 61821
    H: 217-398-8655
    mamidden@sbcglobal.net
    July 2015June 2018
  • Staff Support

    Community Relations Office
    217-403-8830
    communityrelations@champaignil.gov

    City of Champaign
    Community Relations Office
    102 N. Neil Street
    Champaign, IL 61820

    [table “” not found /]